Moving on with life and letting go of alcoholic mum

Hello everyone I've just joined and here is my story, I'll try keep it short. I'm writing because some other stories on here seem similar in ways to my own experiences.

Alcoholic mum passed away

My mum was an alcoholic for as long as I can remember. She didn't have a great childhood and her drinking got worse after the social services made her leave my family home. Her drinking got so bad we lost contact for a few years.

I knew where she was living but everytime I called to try and see her, she was too drunk to hold a normal conversation and my sisters had awful experiences when they did visit her. For my own self protection, I stayed away... Thinking one day she would get better and this would all be over.

Alcoholic Mother

Hey all, I'm new to this but I've heard good things about this so thought I'd give it a try as I need some advice.. I'm 22 and in my final year of university. I cut contact with my mum nearly two years ago and haven't heard directly from her since then. 

Afraid Dad Is Going To Start Drinking Again

Some background info:

Suicidal Alcoholic Mother

Cut off contact with alcoholic dad

I just found this site and was wondering if any of you have cut off contact with an alcoholic parent?

worying daughter

im a 15 year old girl going through alot at home right now. Its no secret that my mom has a drinking problem. She drinks till she can barely talk and is slurring her words everynight. Shes extremely depressed and is going through a divorce with my father. Her behavior has beeen so bad recently that 2 of my aunts have sat me down and talked to me because they thought she had been using drugs. She was slurring her words, unbalanced and acting strange and loopy in the middle of the day when there was no alcohol around.

6 years on Nothing changes

Hi All,